Connect with us


Cessation of airflow at the nostrils and mouth lasting at least 10 seconds. There are three types of apnea: obstructive, central, and mixed. Obstructive apnea is secondary to upper airway obstruction; central apnea is associated with a cessation of all respiratory movements; mixed apnea has both central and obstructive components.

Definition reprinted with permission from Culebras, Antonio, Clinical Handbook of Sleep Disorders, Butterworth-Heinemann

Daily Tweets

Notable Person: #BHCPOD
Phobia: #BNphobia

National Conference Tweetchats

10/6-12 NAADAC
10/23-28 AACAP